How to Get Into a Good American College

Matt Kornfield
8 min read3 days ago

Do More, Do Less, And Do Something Exceptional

Photo by Wei Zeng on Unsplash

Does Going to a Good American College Matter?

Yes… because they’re hard to get into.

Low acceptance rates and ultra high tuition means your degree has weight.

If you want a four word answer to why you’re deserving access to the upper echelons of society, it’s: “I went to Harvard/Princeton/etc.”

Just look at the ranks of Supreme Court Justices or Presidents of the US.

College admissions does the selection job for employers, who then hook themselves up to elite universities through career fairs and alumni networks. You’re guaranteed success if you pick a decent major at one of these institutions; these degrees are worth around $30,000 initially, and $60,000 later, in terms of increased wages.

So what does it take to get in? I can only offer you —

My Experience, And What Could Have Gone Better

I got into Georgetown when applying to schools in 2011. It was by far the best school I got into, and it is for sure a decent school. At the time it had an 18% acceptance rate. I got in I believe because I had decent grades, an okay SAT score, and was pretty well rounded, and I…

--

--